Achieve a better work-life balance with 1Password Families

Achieve a better work-life balance with 1Password Families

Sarah Brown by Sarah Brown on

When you practice secure password habits at home, those good habits will follow you into work. That’s why, if your company uses 1Password Business, you get a free 1Password Families membership. Your family account can be shared with up to five family members to help keep everyone more secure – no matter where they are.

Your family account belongs to you, not your company. Your family and business accounts work independently from each other, meaning your information is never shared between them. Here’s what you need to know about how your business and family accounts work to keep your personal information private, and make sure all your data is safe.

No details shared

With multiple accounts, it’s easy to keep your personal and business data completely separate, and see all your information together in the 1Password apps.

Linked family accounts only share their subscription status with the business account, so business administrators can’t see what’s stored in your family account, how many items or vaults you have, or who you share your family account with. Your private data remains private.

Private, even from us

Your linked family account belongs solely to you, not your company, and your information is even kept private from the team at 1Password. Everything you store in 1Password is encrypted and inaccessible to us. Personally identifiable information is never shared with third parties, and is only used by us to provide you with service and support.

We firmly believe that your data is yours, and we don’t want to know anything about it. We don’t use it, we don’t share it, and we don’t sell it.

What happens when you leave?

Your 1Password Families membership is free to use as long as it’s linked to a business account. But don’t worry, you won’t lose access to any of the information stored in your family account if you leave your job.

When you leave the company, your family account is automatically unlinked from the business account and becomes frozen. Your data is kept safe and sound in a read-only state until you take further action. You can set up your own payment method to continue using your family account without interruption – until you convince your next company to sign up for 1Password Business.

Are you ready to take advantage of your free 1Password Families membership? To get started, sign in to your business account and redeem your family account from your profile page.

Sarah Brown

Get more security tips

Sign up to our business security mailing list and get advice on running a secure, productive workplace delivered directly to your inbox.

Content Pirate

Sarah Brown - Content Pirate Sarah Brown - Content Pirate

Tweet about this post

Continue Reading